If you live in Kentucky, received a conviction for driving under the influence in the past and are now facing a new DUI charge, know that harsher penalties may be in your future. The Supreme Court of Kentucky recently upheld a law passed last year extending the period of time prosecutors can look back on when determining future DUI penalties.
What does that mean, exactly? In short, it means that if you received a DUI conviction within the past 10 years and then receive another one, you will become a repeat DUI offender, and you will receive penalization accordingly. Previously, prosecutors could only review the previous five years in determining repeat-offender status, but now anyone with a DUI conviction within the past decade who receives another can anticipate especially harsh repercussions.
Penalties for Kentucky repeat DUI offenders
Now that the Supreme Court has upheld the new, stronger penalties, you can expect to serve somewhere between seven days and six months in jail if you receive another DUI conviction within the same 10-year period. Furthermore, you can anticipate fines of somewhere between $350 and $500, and you can also plan on spending a year in alcohol or substance abuse treatment as part of your punishment. You will also lose your driver’s license for 12 and 18 months, and you can also expect to receive between 10 days and six months of community service.
If you receive a third DUI conviction within that same 10-year period, you face a fine of between $500 and $1,000, and you will also likely face 30 days to one year behind bars. Additionally, you will have to enroll in alcohol or substance abuse treatment for at least a year, take part in between 10 days and 12 months of community labor and see your license suspended for two to three years.
Kentucky takes drunk driving extremely seriously. If you doubt the results or your breath test or otherwise dispute your DUI charge, do not wait to begin fighting it.